Preschool Bottle Cap Recycling Project Art. Success.

Bottlecap Fish

This year at preschool I am serving as Recycling Mom.  Sounds pretty glamorous doesn’t it?  I joke about it only I really do take the job seriously because these little minds are so ready to soak up any piece of information you give them and starting them off right is so beyond important.  After the first week of recycling basics served up in an easy to digest speech for 2-5 year olds I decided to do something to translate the reuse concept into something the preschoolers could understand.

I was totally inspired by this pin and this pin on Pinterest.  The preschool got parents to collect bottle caps for about a month and when we had a huge basket full I enlisted a really creative artistically gifted neighbor to sketch out a fish on a big box sitting in our recycling pile.  We cut open the box on the seams to create one large flat piece of cardboard.  Then she sketched the fish and my Husband cut it out with scissors and a blade.

I brought the cardboard fish into preschool and had each child choose four caps.  They got to point to where they wanted their caps I applied hot glue to the back of the cap and we created a gorgeous mosaic.  We were absolutely amazed at how cool the fish turned out.  We are planning to do more projects like this one so keep watching as we update with more.

Isn’t this art piece amazing!

Leave a comment